Click on the links below to view books related to the corresponding subject heading:
To find additional subject headings, scroll up and type your subject on the search bar.
Most of the chemistry books in our collection will be e-books. Below are a few general titles related to chemistry as well as writing. To find more e-books, search the catalog on the right.
The Merck Index by
A comprehensive reference work on organic chemistry that provides information on thousands of substances and structural formulas.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 95th Edition
"This newest edition includes most recent CODATA fundamental physical constants published in 2010; IUPAC atomic weight; and the records of mean global temperature and atmospheric carbon dioxide concentration through the end of 2012. Publisher of the first handbook was a family-owned company. In 1987, it was acquired by Times Mirror Co. Subsequent owners. This edition of Handbook of Chemistry and Physics serves the scientific community as a prime source of reliable information."
Name Reactions by
The third edition contains major improvements over the previous edition. In addition to updated references, each reaction is now supplemented with two to three representative examples in synthesis to showcase its synthetic utility. Biographical sketches for the chemists who discovered or developed those name reactions have been included. Furthemore, the subject index is significantly expanded. Different from other books on name reactions in organic chemistry, Name Reactions, A Collection of Detailed Reaction Mechanisms focuses on their mechanisms. It covers over 300 classical as well as contemporary name reactions. Each reaction is delineated by its detailed step-by-step, electron-pushing mechanism, supplemented with the original and the latest references, especially review articles. Thus, it is not only an indispensable resource for senior undergraduate and graduate students for learning and exams, but also a good reference book for all chemists interested in name reactions. Some praise for the previous edition: "This is an excellent book for arrow pushing and learning organic name reactions as encountered in graduate school ... Li's book contains reactions of all mechanistic classes ... The book is nicely balanced, containing modern-day reactions for assembly of stereocomplex molecules. Reactions such as the Corey-Bakshi-Shibata reduction are analyzed. This book is a good reference text that fills a void that has existed for some time. It is both an excellent tool for learning and a good reference source." JOURNAL OF CHEMICAL EDUCATION.
Basic Training in Chemistry by
Basic Training in Chemistry is unique in that it gathers into one source the essential information that is usually widely dispersed. This book can be used as a quick reference guide to the different disciplines of Chemistry: the areas covered are General, Inorganic, Organic, and Instrumental Analysis. Although comprehensive in nature, Basic Training in Chemistry is not meant to replace any standard textbook but rather to be a supplement or additional source of information, or even a comprehensive review guide. Basic Training in Chemistry is a useful addition to any academic or commercial laboratory setting where access to a wide variety of information is needed. The book can be an exceptional source of information for the undergraduate or graduate student as well as for the experienced chemist. Anyone needing a single source of information covering several different disciplines will find this book to be an excellent addition to their usual references.
CliffsQuickReview Biochemistry I by
CliffsQuickReview course guides cover the essentials of your toughest subjects. Get a firm grip on core concepts and key material, and test your newfound knowledge with review questions. Whether you need a course supplement, help preparing for an exam, or a concise reference for the subject, CliffsQuickReview Biochemistry I can help. This guide covers biochemistry as a contemporary science, pinpointing study of biochemical reactions, polymers in living systems, and the common origin and relationships of all living organisms. In no time, you'll be ready to tackle concepts such as
Proteins, Enzymes, Genes by
n this book a distinguished scientist-historian offers a critical account of how biochemistry and molecular biology emerged as major scientific disciplines from the interplay of chemical and biological ideas and practice. Joseph S. Fruton traces the historical development of these disciplines from antiquity to the present time, examines their institutional settings, and discusses their impact on medical, pharmaceutical, and agricultural practice.
Scientific Writing by
This practical book covers the basics of grammar as well as broad brush issues such as writing a grant application and selling to your potential audience. The clear explanations are expanded and lightened with helpful examples and telling quotes.
"They Say/I Say" by
"This book demystifies academic writing and shows how to engage with the views of others. Extensively revised in response to feedback from our community of adopters, this edition of They Say / I Say is an even more practical companion for students, featuring a new chapter on Researching Conversations, new exercises, expanded support for reading, and an expanded chapter on Revising. By focusing on the rhetorical moves found in all disciplines, They Say helps students master the ins and outs of argumentative writing in accessible language and with examples students can apply throughout their college career. The version with readings includes 5 chapters of essays organized by theme that exemplify good argument writing"--