A&M-SA Research Guides: Native American Studies Research Guide: Articles

Suggested Databases for Topic

Search the database collections below to find scholarly articles. Please make sure you read the database description to ensure you will be searching the most appropriate subject journal collection for your topic.

**Search tip: When searching, remember that the indigenous peoples of the Americas have only been called "Native Americans" for the last 40 years. Articles from before this time period will refer to "Indians" or "American Indians" or "Native American Indians".

For additional database collections, please see our A-Z database page.

JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-XV (JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of humanities disciplines including history, language & literature, art & art history, education, philosophy, classical studies, and music. Also includes a digitized group of rare 19th and early 20th century American Art periodicals.
Bibliography of Native North Americans (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy.
America: History and Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Consists of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Project MUSE Basic Research Collection (Johns Hopkins University Press) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access this collection of integral journals for the humanities and social sciences, including many published by prominent university presses and scholarly societies.
Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nearly 1,500 full-text journals dating back to 1907 offering worldwide content including articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, original works of fiction, as well as reviews of performing arts (movies, ballets, plays, etc).
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary database with full-text peer-reviewed journal articles, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Race Relations Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a focus on fundamental areas relevant to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, and immigration studies. Includes studies pertaining to the social, political and economic relations between races and ethnicities.

Suggested Journals

Below are a few individual journal titles that pertain to Native American Studies. For more information about each journal, hover over the 'i' icon for a brief description.

American Indian Quarterly A refereed interdisciplinary journal of the history, anthropology, literature and the arts of Native American Indians, book reviews and lists of recently published books.
Journal of American Indian Education The Journal of American Indian Education (JAIE) is a refereed journal publishing original scholarship directly related to the education of American Indians, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, and Indigenous peoples worldwide, including Inuit, Métis, and First Nations of Canada, Māori, Aboriginal/Torres Strait Islander peoples, Indigenous peoples of Latin America, Africa, and others. JAIE strives to improve Indigenous education through empirical research, knowledge generation, and transmission to researchers, communities, classrooms, and diverse educational settings.
Ethnic & Racial Studies Ethnic and Racial Studies aims to be the leading journal for the analysis of the role of race, racism, ethnicity, migration and forms of ethno-nationalism. These social phenomena are at the heart of many of the major social and political issues in the modern world.
American Indian Law Review The American Indian Law Review serves as a nationwide scholarly forum for the presentation and analysis of developments in the law concerning indigenous people and Indian affairs. Adhering to the traditional law review format, the American Indian Law Review offers in depth articles written by legal scholars, attorneys and other expert observers. In addition, law students write on a wide variety of issues in the rapidly expanding field of Indian law.
Studies in American Indian Literatures
more...less...
Studies in American Indian Literatures (SAIL) is the only journal in the United States that focuses exclusively on American Indian literatures. With a wide scope of scholars and creative contributors, the journal is on the cutting edge of activity in the field. SAIL invites the submission of scholarly, critical pedagogical, and theoretical manuscripts focused on any aspect of American Indian literatures as well as the submission of poetry and short fiction, bibliographical essays, review essays, and interviews. SAIL defines "literatures" broadly to include all written, spoken, and visual texts created by Native peoples

Find a Specific Journal or Article

Find a Specific Journal

To Find an Article from a Citation, click the link above and then click the Articles tab.