A&M-SA Research Guides: Wildlife Management & Conservation Biology Research Guide: Flora and Fauna

Flora and Fauna

JSTOR Global Plants (JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to content vital to plant science: plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials. Includes hundreds of thousands of type specimens, paintings, drawings, correspondence, and supporting materials.

PLANTS Database
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
Tropicos
Over 1.2 million scientific names and 4 million specimen records.
Butterflies and Moths of North America
The Butterflies and Moths of North America (BAMONA) project is ambitious effort to collect and provide access to quality-controlled data about butterflies and moths for the continent of North America from Panama to Canada.
Encyclopedia of Earth
The Encyclopedia of Earth (EoE) is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts who collaborate and review each other's work.
Flora of North America
FNA presents for the first time, in one published reference source, information on the names, taxonomic relationships, continent-wide distributions, and morphological characteristics of all plants native and naturalized found in North America north of Mexico.
Native Plant Information Network
This site provides descriptions and photographs of native North American plants.
Singing Insects of North America
This resource helps identify the songs of crickets, katydids, and cicadas of the United States and Canada.
Western Soundscape Archive
The Western Soundscape Archive offers thousands of recordings of Western animal species and their environments.
Catalog of Fishes
The Catalog of Fishes is the authoritative reference for taxonomic fish names, featuring a searchable on-line database by The California Academy of Sciences.
Amphibian Species of the World
a taxonomic and geographical reference, For amphibians. From the American Museum of Natural History

A Field Guide to Common Texas Insects
Images, descriptions of common Texas insects, from the book A Field Guide to Common Texas Insects, Bastiaan Drees and John Jackman.
AQUAPLANT
AQUAPLANT is designed to help you identify aquatic plants using photos, drawings, and descriptions.
Freshwater Fishes Found in Texas
Descriptions and sketches of Texas freshwater fish provided by the Texas Parks and Wildlife.
Identification Guide to Marine Organisms of Texas
Provides photographs for marine species.
Marine Fishes and Shellfishes of the Gulf
The Parks and Wildlife Department provides descriptions of wildlife found along the Texas coastline.
The Texas A&M Biodiversity Research and Teaching Collection
The collections within the BRTC serve as historical evidence of the distribution of wildlife in Texas, and provide valuable ecological and life history information for an array of species.
The Mammals of Texas: Online Edition
The book contains information on the distribution, physical characteristics and life histories of the 181 species of Texas mammals.
Trees of Texas
Provides sketches, descriptions and information about the tree species of Texas.

ASM Mammal Image Library
A non-profit educational service of the American Society of Mammalogists. A visual resource at all levels of instruction.
BIODIC: The Ultrastructures
BIODIC offers the widest series of electron micrographs available on the web in the field of biology: over 1600 images are currently available in high resolution.
Macaulay Library
The Macaulay Library is the world's largest and oldest scientific archive of biodiversity audio and video recordings.
NOAA Photo Library
Images of weather, space, shore and coastal seas, and thousands of marine species.
NSF Multimedia Gallery
Images from the National Science Foundation's Multimedia Gallery
Nucleic Acid Database
The NDB contains information about experimentally-determined nucleic acids and complex assemblies. Use the NDB to perform searches based on annotations relating to sequence, structure and function, and to download, analyze, and learn about nucleic acids.
Science.gov
The Image Search is now fully integrated into the Science.gov search. If you wish to search only these sources, select Multimedia on the results page after you conduct your search.
The Micropolitan Museum
The Micropolitan Museum exhibits captured images of micro-organisms.
USDA Plant Image Gallery
Photos and line drawings of U.S. plants, including many cultivated or foreign taxa.

Audubon’s Birds of America
This is the premiere work by James Audobon. It details bird species. The books offers glamourous illustrations and descriptions.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
The Biodiversity Heritage Library is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.”
Ecology and Natural Resources Collection
The Ecology and Natural Resources Collection brings together, in digital form, two categories of primary and secondary publications: writings about research in ecology and natural resources conducted by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable titles in these fields held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries.
Ethelind Pope Brown Collection of South Carolina Natural History
The Ethelind Pope Brown Collection of South Carolina Natural History is comprised of 32 opaque watercolors, or gouaches, on paper. Each depicts at least one species of flora and fauna (primarily birds, trees, and flowering plants) found in the American Southeast.
Flora, Fauna, and the Human Form
Included in the collection are biological and natural history studies depicting plant and animal forms, including works on herbs, insects, human physiognomy, genetics, and eugenics. This collection also includes works by and about Gregor Mendel.
Herbals & Early Gardening Books
These books are what are called "herbals". Writers of early herbals were more concerned with curing illnesses than describing plants, and thus these early publications included remedies not only from the plant world, but also from the animal and mineral kingdoms.
The History of Four-Footed Beasts and Serpents
The History of Four-Footed Beasts and Serpents (1658) by Edward Topsell depicts mammals and reptiles, both real and fantastical, in detailed woodcuts. Topsell originally published his illustrated Historie of Foure-footed Beastes, Describing the True and Lively Figure of Every Beast, in 1607. In 1608 he followed it with The Historie of Serpents; Or the Second Booke of Living Creatures. In 1658, twenty years after his death, Topsell’s zoological books were reissued together as part of a three-volume work called The History of Four-footed Beasts and Serpents.