Smart Skills: Business Writing by
Book 3 of the Smart Skills series: practical guides to mastering vital business skills and techniques. Using proven strategies from business experts, these essential smart skills can empower anyone with the tools to get ahead. Gain a competitive edge at work with your business writing skills. Effective business writing skills can help you win that million-pound contract, earn a promotion, resolve a dispute or generate a significant increase in business leads. Our Smart Skillsbook offers proven, practical advice on how to put over a clear and impressive message in a style that's deceptively simple and even enjoyable to read. These guidelines will teach you how to: Write and format business reports, proposals or presentations Recognise the dangers of poor writing Write effectively under time pressure Use persuasive techniques and structures Deal with all types of documentation from a "simple" email to a long report Accessibly written, it includes checklists, templatesand exercisesto help you work through even the most basic building blocks of good writing. Business Writing provides an antidote to the dangers of 'gobbledegook' and 'business-speak' and allows you to generate any kind of document with confidence. After reading this guide, your writing will be effective, engaging and memorable- a vital skill for all professionals.
Ultimate Guide to Business Writing by
The Ultimate Guide to Business Writing is a comprehensive guide on how to write any kind of business document. Written clearly in an engaging voice, it explains in depth the whole process: from determining objectives to establishing readers' needs, conducting research, outlining, and designing a template; to writing the first draft; to editing for meaning, accuracy, concision, style and emotional impact; to creating glossaries and indices; to proofreading and working with reviewers. The book also explains how to exploit the psychology of perception and motivation, collaborate effectively with business colleagues, manage documents holistically across an organisation, and deal with the other everyday practicalities of managing knowledge in a corporate environment. Every section of the book is packed with questions to stimulate thinking and generate meaningful answers, and dozens of examples of what works and why. The book's also rich in practical examples drawn from real life, anecdotes, humour, and visual aids. But the advice isn't just practical and anecdotal: it's also rigorously supported by scientific evidence from notable linguists and psychologists such as Steven Pinker, Daniel Goleman and Yellowlees Douglas. And anyone keen to explore further will benefit from the bibliography and links to videos and other online resources. The book is ideal not just for professional business writers, such as editors, technical writers, copywriters and creative directors; it's also suitable for anyone whose job requires them to write, whether it's something as simple as an email or as complex as a set of policies or a handbook.
The following links are made available to help with an argumentative paper. Credo and Opposing Viewpoints are databases that may help you launch your research.
This link opens in a new windowProvides a balanced view of current social issues such as capital punishment and immigration. Use this tool to view pro/con viewpoints, articles, statistical information, profiles on related federal agencies and special interest groups, and more.
This link opens in a new window
Contains videos and full-text journals from the US, Asia, Oceania, Europe, and Latin America. The Company View and Content in Context features offer company information including market research reports, SWOT analyses, country reports, and more.
This link opens in a new windowSearch 650+ titles including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, & reference handbooks covering the arts, business, health, history, literature, math, religion, etc. Over 1,000 videos, 300,000 art images, and thousands of images for other subjects.
NOTE:
Credo is launching a new platform later this year! The new platform will bring a sleeker user interface and enhanced features to improve research and instruction.
These are some of the highlights:
Anticipated date of migration is June 26, 2023.
The following search box searches Credo tools; Allsides Red Blue Dictionary; Bloomberg QuickTake: Hard-to-explain topics, explained simply; The Conversation: An Independent Source of Analysis from Academic Researchers; Issues & Controversies: Overviews and Pro/Con Argument; ProCon; ProCon Headlines. These resources provide articles on subjects considered controversial. The articles provide factual information without bias or emotionally charged wording.
To search each resource individually, visit the Credo Real-time Reference page.
The following links will take you to material that may help you in the brainstorming process.