Source: freedombunker.com
The process for researching a public company differs somewhat from researching a private company. Public companies are required to report lots of information about themselves to the federal government, as required by the U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC). Public companies also have to provide regular financial reports to their shareholders, which are also available to the public. Databases collect all of this freely available information and compile it into company and industry profiles, which you can find in the library's subscription databases.This makes it very easy to research a public company.
Privately-held companies, on the other hand, are not required to report their financials to the SEC or the general public, making information difficult and sometimes impossible to find. Nonetheless, private company data can turn up in articles because reporters often write about a company's new products and services, opening of a new location, or involvement in a scandal. The information available will vary from company to company but can be used to develop an impression of the company's operations.
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) Code is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. (http://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/)
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Codes are four digit numerical codes assigned by the U.S. government to business establishments to identify the primary business of the establishment. (http://siccode.com/en/)
Global Industry Classification Standard (GICS) Code is an industry code developed by MSCI and Standard & Poor's (S&P) for use by the global financial community. The GICS structure, in many instances, has superceded the SIC and NAICS codes. (http://www.msci.com/resources/pdfs/MK-GICS-DIR-3-02.pdf)
When beginning your company research, note the ticker symbol of the company if it is publicly-traded, as this symbol can be used to search within the library's databases and other resources.
Examples:
Ticker Company
WMT Wal-Mart
VLO Valero Energy Corporation
T AT&T
RAX Rackspace
Use the search box below to search a company's profile from Hoover's.
Use the search box below to search a company profile from Marketline.
These online databases contain industry profiles as well as private and public company information. The private company information is limited but may include a company overview, sales estimates, and other reported data.
This link opens in a new windowIncludes premium content of peer-reviewed, business related journals, company and industry profiles, country reports, market research reports, SWOT analyses, business videos, and more.
This link opens in a new window
This database includes information on both public and private U.S. and international companies. Also included is a residential database, company executive biographies, industry information, and a job search database of employers.
This link opens in a new windowA tool for industry and procurement research with information including market research, market size, industry statistics, industry analysis and trends, procurement analysis, price trends, supply chain risks, and supplier benchmarks. Includes U.S. Industry Reports (NAICS) and iExpert Summaries and U.S. Specialized Industry Reports and iExpert Summaries.
This link opens in a new windowUse this database to search through more than 15,000 sources for U.S. and world news. Look up legal cases including U.S. Supreme Court decisions as old as 1790, find company information, state profiles, legal reviews, state legal research and more.
This link opens in a new windowAccess market intelligence reports, statistics, consumer data and more by sector (automotive, food, retail, etc.), theme (ethical & green, packaging, social media, etc.), or demographic (baby boomers, mothers, teens, etc.).
This link opens in a new windowAccess to most of S&Ps print publications, e.g., Industry Surveys, and resources such as Security Dealers of North America. Provides a Learning Center with tutorials on a variety of finance investment basics.
This link opens in a new windowA great source for business and financial research on various types of private companies. Find information on financials, marketing/advertising, venture capital transactions, deal terms, valuation multiples, and ownership breakdowns.
Users will need to click the "Direct Access" button on the initial screen to use this resource.
This link opens in a new windowHelps users create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, raise funds, and locate people by providing access to more than 20 Million Businesses, 222 Million Consumers, U.S. New Businesses, U.S. New Homeowners and Movers.
EDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, provides up to ten years of company filings, including basic business operation facts, to ensure everyone has fair access to information upon which to base investment decisions.
Don't forget to check the company's own website!
Some websites have an "About Us" or "Investor Relations" page where you might find some useful details about their financials or operations. Check for press releases or annual reports with information about company financials and activities.