A&M-SA Research Guides: Psychology Research Guide: Welcome!

Use this guide to learn strategies for identifying and finding different types of academic literature in psychology and for APA format support resources.

Research Resources

Start with the three databases below to find empirical research studies for Psychology courses. Of the three, APA PsycInfo should be your first choice!

Remember to use the Methodology limiting feature! Select EMPIRICAL STUDY in APA PsycInfo or APA PsycArticles.
For other databases, you can add the word Empirical to your search as a keyword.
The above approaches are NOT PERFECT. You will need to read the methods section of the article to double check.

APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An expansive abstracting and indexing database devoted to peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
APA PsycArticles (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From the American Psychological Association (APA), this is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.

Find A Specific Journal: Use this link if there is a certain journal you are looking for!

You can access library resources by searching Google Scholar!

If you are on-campus, you will be automatically recognized as a member of the A&M-SA community. If you are off-campus, you will need to configure the settings for Google Scholar so that it knows you are a member of the A&M-SA community. Please see How to Set Up Google Scholar for Off-Campus Use for instructions.

Please keep in mind that not everything available through your library is cited on Google Scholar, so be sure to also use the library's online databases for your research needs. You can also ask your subject librarian for help!

You will need to enter your A&M-SA network username and password to get into the library's databases from off-campus. If you need assistance with this, please visit our Off-Campus Access page.

Library Information

For other ways to connect with us visit our Contact Us page.

Please visit our calendar for a day by day breakdown of the library's hours of operation.

Looking for a quiet place to study or a space to collaborate with group members? The library has lots of study rooms to fit your needs. Visit this calendar to select the date/time you wish to reserve your room.