Children's & Young Adult Literature

The Children's Literature Collection at A&M-SA Library

The collection contains approximately 3200 print books covering subject and discipline areas including, but not limited to, the following:

• Language, Linguistics, & Literature
• History and Social Sciences
• Biological Sciences
• Physical Sciences
• Geography & Earth Sciences
• Engineering & Technology
• Bilingual Materials
• Spanish-language Materials

Various awards for children's literature are represented in the collection. See the Children's & YA Lit Awards & Recommendation Sites page for more information on how to find award-winning titles across subjects and celebrating numerous cultural groups.

The New Young Adult Literature Collection at A&M-SA Library

Launched during the summer of 2022, this small but growing collection addresses two primary needs:

• Students who participate in clinical teaching as part of their CAFE-based educator preparation program are sometimes placed in high schools. As a result they may be seeking literature to use in their classrooms that will be engaging for students beyond the sixth and seventh grade levels. 
• Many adults still enjoy reading YA literature for fun!

Other Notes:

• The targeted audience age range for what is considered YA can vary widely. The titles included in A&M-SA's YA collection have been identified through numerous sources, including, but not limited to professional journal and website reviews, WorldCat Library Catalog searches and Library of Congress subject designations, age recommendations on Amazon and in the TeachingBooks.net database, and how a title has been marketed by the publisher. As the Education Librarian, I try to keep all this in mind and then make a decision about where a title fits into the rest of the collection. All this is to say that I acknowledge it to be a subjective process. If you have questions or concerns about a specific title, please contact me directly at kimberly.grotewold@tamusa.edu.
• The YA collection is composed primarily of fiction titles with limited nonfiction included.
• Like with children's literature, efforts are made to purchase award-winning and recognized titles.