Science Methods PreK-12 Research Guide

Offers over 430,000 full-text biographies from sources such as Biography Today, Cambridge Dictionary of American Biography, American Reference Library, Encyclopædia Britannica, and more.

The comprehensive resource covers children’s literature books and media from beginning readers to young adults. It includes over 1.2 million titles and supporting content such as 600K professional reviews, 1.25K award sources representing 110K book awards, reading measurement programs, author links, lesson plans, and teaching guides. The Enterprise search engine offers 50 search filters and an 18 STEM terms search feature. It’s an excellent tool for selecting trade books, creating thematic reading lists, annotated bibliographies, interpreting reviews, and developing classroom collections.

Learn about major issues from current and historical perspectives and the inner workings of the U.S. government from authoritative, accessible, and unbiased sources.  

Useful for educators, this kid-friendly interface returns a topic overview along with search results from American Heritage Children’s Dictionary, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, Primary Search, and Middle Search Plus.

This database includes articles, project ideas, and instructional materials from magazines, reference books, and journals for indoor and outdoor hobbies and crafts.

This comprehensive database designed for high school libraries contains full-text popular high school magazines, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and a collection of images including photos, maps, flags, and more.

Presents full-text for popular middle school magazines, biographies, and historical essays. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Primary source documents are also included.

Provides a balanced view of current social issues such as capital punishment and immigration. Use this tool to view pro/con viewpoints, articles, statistical information, profiles on related federal agencies and special interest groups, and more.

Offers full-text for popular elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Also includes the Encyclopedia of Animals and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.

A resource for K-12 educators to encourage reading in students. Includes book guides, lesson plans, author and illustrator interviews, audio character name pronunciations, national and state book lists, and more. Includes Spanish language resources.

This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political, and economic issues; scientific discoveries; and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints.