A&M-SA Research Guides: Science Methods PreK-12 Research Guide: Find TExES Resources

Certification Info

Teacher Certification Exams for Students at Texas A&M-San Antonio

Students who wish to become certified to teach in Texas must demonstrate both content area competence and knowledge of pedagogical/professional responsibilities.
See a list of the TExES exams offered using the link in the next section.

Texas Educator Certification Examination Program
Click on the + symbol to view the complete list of exams for each category. Of particular interest is the TExES list.
Texas Educator Certification Examination Program Home Page
The Texas Educator Certification Examination home page offers resources related to preparing and registering for TExES exams, exam policies, and obtaining scores following the test.

Online TExES Exam Prep

Two Online TExES Preparation Databases Offered Through the Library

LearningExpress Library Plus (LearningExpress)
TExES eLibrary (Mometrix)

Important:

For currently enrolled students, access the database link provided below. If prompted to log-in for initial access, use your university Jaguar credentials.
Before taking any practice exams, make sure you register for an individual account using your university Jaguar email and log-in credentials. If you do not set up an individual account, your progress and completion of practice tests will not be recorded.

LearningExpress Library Plus (LearningExpress) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access this interactive online learning platform for resources to help with job preparation, career advancement, and career changes and practice materials for tests such as ACT, AP, CLEP, GED, GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MAT, MCAT, NMSQT, PSAT, SAT and more.
TExES eLibrary (Mometrix) This link opens in a new window
TExES eLibrary is a comprehensive test prep hosting site for the Texas Examinations of Education Standards (TExES) which includes assessments of content-area knowledge and professional knowledge for teachers and administrators. TExES exams correspond in name and level (e.g., 4–8, 7–12, EC–6, and EC–12) with Texas certificates

Need Print Manuals: See if We Have Manuals on Reserve for Your Exams

TExES PPR EC-12 (160) Book + Online by Beatrice Mendez Newman
Call Number: Reserves LB1763.T4 N49 2021
ISBN: 9780738612546
Publication Date: 2019
This resource "contains an in-depth review of all four state-defined domains and the 13 competencies, including discussions of key educational concepts and theories, as well as relevant laws. A diagnostic test and three full-length practice tests are offered..."
TExES PPR EC-12 (160) Pedagogy and Professional Responsibilities Study Guide
Call Number: Reserves LB1763.T4 T495 2022
ISBN: 9781637982457
Publication Date: 2022
This resource covers topics including, "Students as Learners, The Instructional Process, Assessment, Professional Development, Leadership, and Community Ethics."
TExES Science of Teaching Reading (293) Practice Questions by Mometrix (Editor)
Call Number: Reserves LB1763.T4 T4886 2021
ISBN: 9781516714872
Publication Date: 2023-01-31
"TExES STR practice questions are designed to prepare you for the real test.... Mometrix includes detailed answer explanations for each question" which can help you understand why you got specific questions wrong and determine how to focus your test prep.
TExES Science of Teaching Reading (293) Secrets Study Guide by Mometrix (Editor)
Call Number: Reserves LB1763.T4 S24 2021
ISBN: 9781516715145
Publication Date: 2023
"Concepts and principles aren't simply named or described in passing, but are explained in detail." Manual includes content knowledge reviews, examples of questions, practice tests, and links to additional resources online.

TExES Core Subjects EC-6 (391) Secrets Study Guide by Mometrix Media, LLC
Call Number: REF LB1763 .T4 H47 2021
ISBN: 9781516716968
Publication Date: 2021
Includes practice questions for the current version of the TExES EC-6 Core Subjects exam (#391). Note this title has 3 volumes.
TExES Core Subjects EC-6 391 Study Guide by Joshua Rueda
Call Number: Reserves LB1763.T4 T453 2022
ISBN: 9781637750605
Publication Date: 2022
This resource includes overall test-taking strategies plus practice questions across all areas covered in the TExES (391) exam.
TExES Core Subjects 4-8 (211) Book by Ann M. L. Cavallo; Mary D. Curtis; Peggy Semingson; Melissa Hulings; Karen Allmond; Stu Schwartz (Contribution by)
Call Number: REF LB1763.T4 C38 2020
ISBN: 9780738611976
Publication Date: 2019/2020
This manual provides coverage of the subject areas tested: English Language Arts and Reading; Mathematics; Social Studies; and Science, plus a diagnostic test and 2 full-length practice test batteries.
TExES Core Subjects 4-8 211 by Sharon Wynne
Call Number: REF LB1763 .T4 H474 2015
ISBN: 9781607874560
Publication Date: 2015
"Unlike other teacher certification test preparation material, our TExES Core Subjects 4-8 study guide drills all the way down to the focus statement level, providing detailed examples of the range, type, and level of content that appear on the test."

TExES Science 4-8 116 by Sharon A. Wynne & XAMonline, Inc.
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781607879329
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Covers the five domains of Scientific Inquiry & Process; Physical Sciences; Life Sciences; Earth & Space Sciences; & Science Learning, Instruction, & Assessment. Includes one sample test.
TExES Social Studies 4-8 118 by Sharon A. Wynne
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781607879367
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
"Includes 7 competencies/skills found on the TExES Social Studies 4-8 test and 125 sample-test questions. This guide, aligned specifically to standards prescribed by the Texas Department of Education, covers the sub-areas of Social Studies Content; and Social Studies Foundations, Skills and Instruction.'
TExES Languages Other Than English (LOTE) - Spanish (613) Secrets Study Guide by Texes Exam Secrets Test Prep Staff (Editor)
Call Number: Reserves LB1763.T4 T49 2021
ISBN: 9781630945268
Publication Date: 2015 / 2017 / 2021
TExES Languages Other Than English (LOTE) - Spanish (613) Secrets includes: The 5 Secret Keys to TExES Success: Time is Your Greatest Enemy, Guessing is Not Guesswork, Practice Smarter, Not Harder, Prepare, Don't Procrastinate, & Test Yourself." Offers an in-depth strategy review.

TExES Early Childhood PK-3 (292) Secrets Study Guide by Mometrix, LLC
Call Number: REF LB1763 .T4 E37 2021
ISBN: 9781516715077
Publication Date: 2021
Includes practice questions with answer explanations plus overall exam strategies. Covers content areas including: "child development; instructional setting; educating all learners; data-driven practice & formal/informal assessment; learning across the curriculum."
TExES Special Education EC-12 (161) Book by Jill L. Haney; James Wescott; Jamalyn Jaquess
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9780738684147
Publication Date: 2013
Covers content including: "understanding individuals with disabilities; promoting student learning and development; promoting student achievement in mathematics, English language arts and reading; and professional roles and responsibilities."
Texes Bilingual Target Language Proficiency Test (BTLPT) - Spanish (190) Secrets Study Guide by Texes Exam Secrets Test Prep Staff (Editor)
Call Number: REF LB1763.T4 M6534 2015
ISBN: 9781630945237
Publication Date: 2015
Covers "spelling, pronunciation, punctuation, and grammar; listening, reading, writing, speaking; plus comprehensive practice questions with detailed answer explanations."
TExES School Librarian (150) Exam Preparation by Sharon A. Wynne & XamOnline Staff
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781607879428
Publication Date: 2008
Covers the following: "Teaching, Learning, & ... Library Environment; Program Management, Leadership, & Connections to the Community; Librarianship, Information Science, & Technology." Includes sample questions and answers with explanations.

Passing the Principal As Instructional Leader TExES Exam by Elaine L. Wilmore
Call Number: Main LB1769.T49 W58 2019
ISBN: 9781544342153
Publication Date: 2019
This exam emphasizes the principal as a learner-centered leader through all aspects of guiding a school. It covers theory as well as practice addressing areas such as high quality instruction, promoting teacher effectiveness and student achievement, communication skills, goal setting, and data analysis.