You can search our library catalog to find books. Books that are not available to you at our library may be available at another library near you. You can request these books via Interlibrary Loan or use a TexShare card to check them out in person.
If you'd rather surf the Web instead of read a book, check out these links below.
These are just a few of the library's databases that can be used to search for articles and more relating to history. For a full list of databases dealing with history, select the History option under the All Subjects button on the library's A to Z list of databases.
As the 18th Century dawned on the North American continent, four powers (French, Spanish, British and American Indians) were competing to see who would control this remarkable land. 64 pivotal events of this period are depicted in this video series.
Consists of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
This two-part collection provides primary and secondary sources on American history from early settlers through the end of World War II through correspondence, diaries, government documents, photographs, newspapers, broadsides, artwork, and more.
Note: When trying to access this resource, you may encounter a warning "Your connection is not private". Simply click the "Advanced" button at the bottom left of that page, then click "Proceed to americanhistory.amdigital.co.uk (unsafe)" to access this resource. You are seeing this warning because this resource currently does not use Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPS).
Searchable digital facsimiles of thousands of American newspapers, including eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, and obituaries. This collection chronicles the evolution of culture and daily life from 1690 to the recent past.
An exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
Coverage of humanities disciplines including history, language & literature, art & art history, education, philosophy, classical studies, and music. Also includes a digitized group of rare 19th and early 20th century American Art periodicals.
Take some time this summer to polish up on America's history and learn about the events surrounding Independence Day. These books, videos and more are just a few of the resources available for checkout. Follow these instructions to place a hold on any of these titles and library staff will pull them for you and notify you when they are ready to be picked up. Be sure to bring your A&M-SA ID with you if you are interested in checking out any of these items.
The American Revolution: Writings from the War of Independence 1775-1783
by
Answering the Cry for Freedom
by
Everybody's Revolution
by
Henry and the Cannons
by
The Idea of America
by
John, Paul, George and Ben
by
Liberty!: the American Revolution
by
Phillis Wheatley Chooses Freedom
by
Revolutionary Founders
by
Revolutionary Summer
by
The Texas Connection with the American Revolution
by
Those Rebels, John and Tom
by
Women in the American Revolution
by
Yankee Doodle America
by
To view any of the e-books below, click on the book's title and on the next screen, click where it says "View ebook." If you are off campus you will be asked to sign in with your JagWIRE credentials. For a description of each book, hover your mouse over the book's title.
African Americans and American Indians in the Revolutionary War
by
The American Revolution and the Declaration of Independence
by
Benjamin Franklin and the American Revolution
by
John Witherspoon's American Revolution
by
Landmarks of the American Revolution
by
The Miracle of American Independence
by
Thirteen Clocks: How Race United the Colonies and Made the Declaration of Independence
by
