If you see this button while searching in one of our databases:
Click on the button and it will search within the library's databases to find the full text version of the article for you. If the full text version cannot be found, simply click on Request item via ILL and it will request the article for you through our Interlibrary Loan system, ILLiad. The article will then be emailed to your Jaguar account within a week or two.
Use the link above to look up a specific journal or article.
Search multiple health-related databases at the same time using the search box below. Try entering key word searches such as
respiratory diseases AND smoking
air quality AND public health
This link opens in a new windowFocuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
This link opens in a new windowBioMed Central is a publisher of 220 open access, peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine. Subject coverage ranges from anesthesiology to blood disorders, infectious diseases, plant biology, and sports medicine.
This link opens in a new windowThis resource provides full-text journals, magazine, reference books, encyclopedias and health reports on aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, fitness, nutrition, teen health topics and more.
Includes the databases, AHFS Consumer Medication Information and Natural & Alternative Treatments.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThis resource provides scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
This link opens in a new windowA unique collection of medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. Furnishes table of contents and full-text for peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish.
This link opens in a new windowProvides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
Up-to-date, quality health care information from the National Library of Medicine. Both health professionals and consumers can depend on it for current medical information, dictionaries, lists of hospitals and physicians, and clinical trials.
This link opens in a new windowAccess journals published by Nature Publishing Group (NPG), such as Nature, Scientific American, and more. Content covers life, physical, chemical and applied sciences and clinical medicine.
A service of the National Library of Medicine that provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full-text articles and other related resources.
This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive source of full-text for sports and sports medicine journals.
This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 199,000 records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, management, research and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
This link opens in a new windowIncludes full-text resources relating to all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
This link opens in a new windowEducation Resource Information Center provides access to education literature and resources. Consists of journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
This link opens in a new windowA highly specialized collection of electronic information for professional educators, librarians, and education researchers that offers information on everything from children's health and development to pedagogical theory and practice.
This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for periodicals (mostly peer-reviewed). Topics include: assessment, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, elementary education, higher education, instructional media, school administration, and more.
This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides full-text access to over 2300 peer-reviewed, Elsevier journals from 2010-present. Search for information pertaining to the sciences, social sciences, business, education, and more.
This link opens in a new windowUpgraded from JSTOR Biological Sciences (JSTOR). Spanning more than 340 years of science history and research, this collection covers aquatic science, biological sciences, botany, developmental & cell biology, ecology, paleontology, zoology, and more, as well as broad coverage of health sciences.
This link opens in a new windowAccess multidisciplinary research delivered with info on emerging trends, subject specific content, and analysis tools. Includes Emerging Sources Citation Index: 2005-present, the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1980-present.
This link opens in a new windowContains information covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences, and materials science.
This link opens in a new windowCovering the areas of natural science, technology, and engineering, this resource features materials in both English and Spanish from journals, ebooks, and magazines.
Included:
This link opens in a new windowEncompasses all aspects of agriculture, including veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming, agricultural economics, food and human nutrition, agricultural engineering and environmental sciences.
This link opens in a new windowArticles and monographs from the 1940s pertaining to agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, pollution & waste management, environmental technology and law, urban planning and more.
This link opens in a new windowThe IEEE Xplore digital library provides access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electronics, electrical engineering, computing, biomedical engineering and related technologies. This includes full text access to over 5.4 million documents including IEEE journal articles, magazine articles, conference papers, and active standards.
This link opens in a new windowA valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary database with full-text peer-reviewed journal articles, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
This link opens in a new windowResearchers can stay up to date in their fields through these critical reviews of primary research literature written by leading scientists. This collection covers 41 disciplines within the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.
This link opens in a new windowSAGE publishes more than 485 journals, including those of more than 160 learned societies and institutions. Subject matter includes business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
This link opens in a new windowSpringer provides online access to the contents journals covering a wide array of subjects, including science, technology, medicine, humanities, and law. Some materials outside of our subscription may have preview-only access.
This link opens in a new windowAccess multidisciplinary research delivered with info on emerging trends, subject specific content, and analysis tools. Includes Emerging Sources Citation Index: 2005-present, the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1980-present.
This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary collection of resources covering physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Access journal articles, e-books, reference works, databases, and more. Some materials outside of our subscription may have preview-only access.
PICO is a recognized format for developing a clinical research question. This question is often used as the basis for a literature search/review, and if needed, a research study design. It is part of a larger framework associated with evidence based practice (EBP) in health-related fields.
P = Patient/Problem [Condition] or Population
I = Intervention or Exposure
C = Compare to or Control
O = Outcome
Notes:
You can often enter a keyword search from the journal's home page within a database. Follow the steps and see the images below for visual examples.
Note: These specific instructions apply to EBSCO databases. If the journal is housed in a ProQuest, SAGE, or other company's database, the screens will look different from the examples which follow (Steps 3 and 4).
Use the list of suggested journals or the Find a Specific Journal Tool on the Library's home page, to locate the journal home page from within the library databases.
When the result page for the journal appears in WorldCat (the library catalog) it will show you which database(s) includes coverage of the journal. Click on the link for the journal title to open the record page for the journal within the database.
The journal record page offers important information about the journal, and in this case, offers links to all the issues of the journal, organized by year, in a vertical list on the right side of the screen. Above the Publication Details heading, there is also a link labeled "Search within this publication." Clicking here will open up a page with the advanced search screen for the database.
The Journal Name (JN) symbol is automatically entered into the first search box. You can then use the other empty search boxes to enter keywords or other search terms to describe your topic. Your results will be limited to matching articles from the specific journal, in this case, Journal of Sport Behavior.
Peer review is the rigorous process scholarly resources go through to become published. Most often when we talk about peer review, we are talking about journal articles going through the process, but some books do also. Peer review typically involves review boards of experts in a topic or discipline who read and evaluate submitted articles/materials to determine if they meet the standards for publication. This review involves more than just looking at the article's format, rather also examining thoroughness of the literature review, soundness of methodology, accuracy of results, and logic behind conclusions that are drawn. Often articles are returned to the authors for revisions before final publication.
