A&M-SA Research Guides: Finance and Economics: Library Research Guide: Statistical Resources

Statistical Resources from A&M-SA Databases

Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This authority for statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the U.S. provides a snapshot of America and its people with data from the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, and other Federal agencies and private organizations.
Mintel Academic (Mintel) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access market intelligence reports, statistics, consumer data and more by sector (automotive, food, retail, etc.), theme (ethical & green, packaging, social media, etc.), or demographic (baby boomers, mothers, teens, etc.).
PolicyMap (PolicyMap) This link opens in a new window
Access to authoritative public and proprietary sources. PolicyMap allows users to make maps, find specific locations, and create market reports.

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
U.S. Department of Commerce agency. BEA produces some of the most closely watched economic statistics that influence decisions of government officials, business people, and individuals. These statistics provide a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of the U.S. economy.

Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED) (Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis) This link opens in a new window
Access over 214,000 United States and international time series, such as gross domestic product, civilian unemployment rate, and money stock. Manipulate data by creating maps and graphs or download data in Microsoft Excel.

Data and Statistics about the U.S.
The United States Census Bureau provides data about the nation’s people and economy. Every 10 years, it conducts the Population and Housing Census, in which every resident in the United States is counted. The agency also gathers data through more than 100 other surveys of households and businesses every one to five years. You can explore the results of the surveys or find popular quick facts.
FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research)
This publication prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers supplies monthly updates related to the economic conditions in the U.S. Economic Indicators provides statistical data both in tabular and graphic form and includes information on consumer and producer prices, employment, production, and money and banking. Typically 10 years of annual data with the most recent 12 to 15 months broken out in detail. 1948 to present.
Texas State Data Center
Provides demographic and geographical data about the populations within the state of Texas, including population projections, technical documents, and thematic maps.

United States Census Bureau (U.S. Department of Commerce) This link opens in a new window
Offers data for population and housing censuses, economic censuses, censuses of governments, and American Community surveys.
United States Department of Commerce (U.S. Department of Commerce) This link opens in a new window
Information covering job creation, economic growth, business development, technology, entrepreneurship, environmental stewardship, and trade within the modern global market.

USDA Economics, Statistics, and Market Information System
Contains nearly 2500 reports and datasets from the economics agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, covering topics in U.S. and international agriculture and related subjects. Both current and historical data are included (from Mann Library, Cornell University).
U.S. Department of the Treasury
The Treasury is responsible for promoting economic prosperity and ensuring the financial security of the United States. The site provides information on taxes, interest rates, currency exchange, personal finance, and government reports and policies.
U.S. Energy Information Administration
Official energy statistics from the United States government
Statistic Brain
Statistic Brain is used by over 3,000,000 people each month to discover more about their world.
Nation Master
This is a great tool for country comparisons across a huge range of topics, including crime statistics, agriculture, disasters, and democracy.