A&M-SA Research Guides: U.S. Federal Government Information Research Guide: General Collections

Major Digital Collections & Websites

HeinOnline Academic (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains information on US law and government as well as constitutions from around the globe.

Links to Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment (BLASE); Democracy in America; Gun Regulation and Legislation in America; History of Supreme Court Nominations; Immigration Law & Policy in the U.S.; and Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies: A Bibliographic Listing.
Westlaw Campus Research (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Westlaw Campus Research contains the full text of court opinions, statutes, and regulations from state and federal governments. Westlaw Campus Research is powered by WestSearch, which dramatically improves searching and the ability to find the most relevant information quickly. Westlaw Campus Research is a premier research service for legal, news, and business-related information, making it a great resources for law, business, and criminal justice students.
Primary features include:
• Analytical sources like American Jurisprudence 2d
• American Law Reports
• Black's Law Dictionary
• 800+ law reviews and journals
• Primary law sources like USCA, CFR, Federal Register and all federal, state and Supreme Court cases
• Newspapers, magazines, trade journals, and company information
Congressional Publications (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains documents, reports, and other detailed information from both the House and the Senate dating back to 1789. Includes Congressional Record and US Serial Set Collections 1 and 2A-E, 1789-2011.

Federal Digital System (FDsys)
Free online access to official government publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Collections include the Budget of the U.S. Government, Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Record, Federal Register, United States Code, and U.S. Statutes at Large. Mostly recently published materials.

Congress.gov (Library of Congress) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive information on Congressional bills, laws, proceedings provided by the Library of Congress, the Congressional Record, and information on Members and Congressional Committees.
Supreme Court of the United States (Supreme Court of the United States) This link opens in a new window
Compiles information on the Chief Justice of the United States and Associate Justices as well as information on the national justice system.
United States House of Representatives (U.S. House of Representatives) This link opens in a new window
Access current information on the House of Representatives legislative activities and the views of individual United States Representatives.
United States Senate (U.S. Senate) This link opens in a new window
Access current information on the Senate's legislative activities and the individual views of United States Senators.
White House (Executive Office of the President) This link opens in a new window
Access up-to-date information on the executive branch of the United States. Watch the Presidential weekly address, access information on the White House staff, and the current issues faced by the U.S. government.
United States Department of State (U.S. Department of State) This link opens in a new window
Review up-to-date information on international policies and affairs as managed by the U.S. Department of State.
United States Customs and Border Protection (U.S. Department of Homeland Security) This link opens in a new window
Provides information on border security and the enforcement of lawful international trade.
United States Code (U.S. Government Publishing Office) This link opens in a new window
The codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States divided by broad subjects into 50 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives.

Documents from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention, 1774 to 1789- Library of Congress
Contains 277 documents relating to the work of Congress and the drafting and ratification of the Constitution. Items include extracts of the journals of Congress, resolutions, proclamations, committee reports, treaties, and early printed versions of the United States Constitution and the Declaration of Independence. Most broadsides are one page in length; others range from 1 to 28 pages. A number of these items contain manuscript annotations not recorded elsewhere that offer insight into the delicate process of creating consensus. In many cases, multiple copies bearing manuscript annotations are available to compare and contrast.
Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1875
Beginning with the Continental Congress in 1774, America's national legislative bodies have kept records of their proceedings. The records of the Continental Congress, the Constitutional Convention, and the United States Congress make up a rich documentary history of the construction of the nation and the development of the federal government and its role in the national life. These documents record American history in the words of those who built our government. Documents include: Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention | Journals of Congress | Debates of Congress | Statutes and Documents
National Archives
Explore our nation's history through documents, photos and records on the National Archives site.

United States Government Manual (U.S. Government Publishing Office) This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive information on the agencies of all three government branches and includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees.

Budget of the U.S. Government

FDsys - Budget of the U.S. Government (1996-present)

U.S. Federal Government Information Research Guide

Major Digital Collections & Websites

Budget of the U.S. Government

Treaties and Agreements