This guide is meant to be a starting point in assisting students in The Family and Marriage course by helping them to find articles, book/e-books, data, and citation help. See the tabs for more information on finding articles, books and additional resources. Please do not hesitate to ask for help if you have any questions!
Start your search with one of the databases below. They allow you to search thousands of scholarly journal articles , conference papers and other similar research documents by keywords, author or other criteria.
This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive and high-quality sociology research database encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.
This link opens in a new windowIncludes international literature of sociology and social work, as well as relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, and population studies. Supports hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations.
This link opens in a new windowFeatures an index containing thousands of records covering areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, and family therapy. This resource provides coverage back to 1979.
This link opens in a new windowCoverage of humanities disciplines including history, language & literature, art & art history, education, philosophy, classical studies, and music. Also includes a digitized group of rare 19th and early 20th century American Art periodicals.
This link opens in a new windowA valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary database with full-text peer-reviewed journal articles, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Here is a list of top journals related to family, marriage and sociology.
You can access library resources by searching Google Scholar!
If you are on-campus and using either the Internet Explorer or Firefox browser, you will be automatically recognized as a member of the A&M-SA community. If you are off-campus or using the Google Chrome browser while on-campus, you will need to configure the settings for Google Scholar so that it knows you are a member of the A&M-SA community. Please see How to Set Up Google Scholar for Off-Campus Use for instructions.
Please keep in mind that not everything available through your library is cited on Google Scholar, so be sure to also use the library's online databases for your research needs. You can also ask your subject librarian for help!
You will need to enter your A&M-SA network username and password to get into the library's databases from off-campus. If you need assistance with this, please visit our Off-Campus Access page.
To Find an Article from a Citation, click the link above and then click the Articles tab.
For other ways to connect with us visit our Contact Us page.
Please visit our calendar for a day by day breakdown of the library's hours of operation.
Looking for a quiet place to study or a space to collaborate with group members? The library has lots of study rooms to fit your needs. Visit this calendar to select the date/time you wish to reserve your room.