For other ways to connect with us visit our Contact Us page.
Please visit our calendar for a day by day breakdown of the library's hours of operation.
Looking for a quiet place to study or a space to collaborate with group members? The library has lots of study rooms to fit your needs. Visit this calendar to select the date/time you wish to reserve your room.
Welcome to the Visual Studies Research Guide! This guide is intended to be a starting point for students in the Visual Studies course by providing information on how to obtain books/e-books, peer-reviewed articles, and information on writing and plagiarism. Please do not hesitate to ask for help if you have any questions.
The library subscribes to a number of online databases that help you locate articles. Why use articles from the databases? Many of the articles and essays you retrieve through the library's databases will be scholarly in nature and readily available (full-text), unlike much of the information you might find on the Web.
This link opens in a new windowProvides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
This link opens in a new windowCoverage of humanities disciplines including history, language & literature, art & art history, education, philosophy, classical studies, and music. Also includes a digitized group of rare 19th and early 20th century American Art periodicals.
This link opens in a new windowAccess this collection of integral journals for the humanities and social sciences, including many published by prominent university presses and scholarly societies.
This link opens in a new window
Nearly 1,500 full-text journals dating back to 1907 offering worldwide content including articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, original works of fiction, as well as reviews of performing arts (movies, ballets, plays, etc).
This link opens in a new windowA valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary database with full-text peer-reviewed journal articles, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
This link opens in a new windowCovering materials back to 1915, Communication Source offers resources pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric & discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
Gale Literature Resource Center provides researchers with unbounding literary resources to support their own literary responses, literary analysis, and thesis statements through a diversity of scholars and critics that ensure all views and interpretations are represented. The database features primary works in a variety of genres, up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews that encourage interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy, and the development of critical thinking skills.
This link opens in a new windowThis resource covers news related to WAP technology, tracking the market penetration of new technologies, and offering insights into key players in this field. With over 140 titles, more than 115 of which are available in full-text, it spans from 1995 to 2023.
While not every database works the same way, keep these general search tips in mind when looking for articles.
1.Use the advanced search option
Think of the mulitple search fields as a hierarchy. Place the terms with the highest importance in the top box and then enter terms in the boxes below to narrow your results.
2. Use the limitors to narrow your results
All databases have additional limiters.They will generally appear on either the left or right hand side of the search results page.
Examples of limiters include full text, date, subjects, population, peer reviewed or document type.
3. Don't forget to look at the bibliography listed at the end of articles. They provide suggestions for further reading and study. Use the 'Find a specific Journal' link in the box on the left to see if the library has it in our collection.
4. Be prepared to experiment with different combinations of key terms. Then evaluate your results, make adjustments, and try again. Examine the subjects that are associated with an article that closely matches your thesis to assist you with finding more helpful articles. Input those keywords into the search fields.
To Find an Article from a Citation, click the link above and then click the Articles tab.