Country Profiles
The following links provide access to country data concerning resources, population, and business operations.
-
Passport (Euromonitor International) This link opens in a new window
Access to market research, focusing on consumer goods, related to consumer products and demographics, industries, and economies worldwide.
-
CountryWatch (CountryWatch) This link opens in a new window
Provides demographic, political, economic, business, cultural, and environmental subject matter on countries, as well as information on public and private sector organizations with overseas operations and global interests.
-
Background Notes/Country Profiles (U.S. Department of State) This link opens in a new window
Publications that include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
-
CIA- The World Fact BookInformation on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for world entities. Also includes maps and flags of the major world regions and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
-
CultureWatch (CountryWatch) This link opens in a new window
This database features global events including background information on countries including their formation, maps, flags, and relevant cultural images. Includes information on countries such as cuisine, sports, art, health, government, and more.
Business Etiquette
The links below will take you to your library's collection of books on the topics indicated.
Suggested Databases
-
Access World News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new windowSearch thousands of regional, local, national, and international newspapers, newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, and transcripts for information on issues, events, background on important topics, and more.
-
U.S. International Development Finance Corporation (DFC) (U.S. Government) This link opens in a new window
The U.S. Government’s development finance institution. Information on private capital, foreign policy, and emerging markets.
-
International Trade Update (International Trade Administration) This link opens in a new window
Monthly publication by the Office of Public Affairs of the U.S. Department of Commerce’s International Trade Administration.
-
Global Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Find international, national, and regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, The Guardian, El Norte, and South China Morning Post. Search by company, geographic area, products, people, or subject.
Included:
Reference Material
-
Business Ethics a World ViewList of books.
-
International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management
by
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780080961200Publication Date: 2012-06-25 -
The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of International Management
by
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780631227861Publication Date: 1999-01-01 -
Regional Guide to International Conflict and Management from 1945 To 2003
by
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781452267364Publication Date: 2004-11-25
Helpful Websites
-
Doing Business in... Business Ready (B-READY)Ranks business regulations of 185 economies at national, sub-national (major cities), and geographic regional levels by quantitative measures - such as taxes, ease of starting/operating/closing a business, contracts, and other factors. View related reports such as economic profiles, employing workers, good practices, and related topics.
-
Global EdgeMichigan State University’s GlobalEdge provides industry profiles which include links to related online resources and industry associations, as well as information on risk related to the industry and lists of top companies around the world in each industry.
-
The Best Government Tools and Resources for ExportingReadiness Assessment and Export Planning
-
How to Use the EXIM Bank to Stay Internationally CompetitiveThe Export-Import Bank (EXIM) is an independent federal agency that helps businesses of any size grow their international exports.
-
SBA: State Trade and Export Promotion (STEP) Grant InitiativeSTEP provides financial awards to state and territory governments to assist small businesses with export development.