OER & Affordable Learning Materials (ALM)

"Business Law and the Legal Environment provides students with context and essential concepts across a broad range of legal issues with which managers and business executives must grapple. The text provides the vocabulary and legal savvy necessary for business people to talk in an educated way to their customers, employees, suppliers, government officials — and to their own lawyers." Published by the Saylor Foundation under a CC-BY-NC-SA license.

"Advanced Business Law and the Legal Environment provides students with context and essential legal concepts relating to the Uniform Commercial Code and various aspects of property law. The text provides the vocabulary and legal savvy necessary for business people to talk in an educated way to their customers, employees, suppliers, and other stakeholders — and to their own lawyers." Published through the Saylor Foundation under a CC-BY-NC-SA license.

"Business Ethics is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the single-semester business ethics course. This title includes innovative features designed to enhance student learning, including case studies, application scenarios, and links to video interviews with executives, all of which help instill in students a sense of ethical awareness and responsibility." Published in 2018 under CC-BY 4.0 License.

"This textbook is an adaptation by D. Marchand and Athabasca University of the original text written by D. Annand and H. Dauderis. It is intended for use in entry-level college and university courses in financial accounting. A corporate approach is utilized consistently throughout the book." CC-BY-NC-SA license. Includes ancillary materials.

Text uses annual report of real companies to show accounting principles in use. Includes explanation of accounting terminology and theory as well as sample analysis and interpretation. Publication date of this text is 2011 but it is available via a CC-BY license so it can be remixed, modified, and built upon.

This book is intended for an undergraduate or "MBA level Financial Accounting course. It covers the standard topics in a standard sequence, utilizing the Socratic method of asking and answering questions." Published in 2016 under a CC-BY-NC-SA license.

Over one hundred video lectures on accounting and finance topics. NOTE: These videos are freely accessible on YouTube but they do not allow for modifications.

This site offers free videos on various topics related to accounting and finance. NOTE: These videos are copyrighted and not able to be sampled or modified so they are not true OER. This site asks users to subscribe, but videos can be viewed without subscribing. The rest of the site offers a mix of free resources (articles) and materials which require purchase (courses).

"Principles of Management is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the introductory course on management. This is a traditional approach to management using the leading, planning, organizing, and controlling approach. Management is a broad business discipline, and the Principles of Management course covers many management areas such as human resource management and strategic management, as well behavioral areas such as motivation. No one individual can be an expert in all areas of management, so an additional benefit of this text is that specialists in a variety of areas have authored individual chapters." Published in 2019 under a CC-BY-4.0 license.

"This OpenStax resource aligns to introductory courses in Organizational Behavior. The text presents the theory, concepts, and applications with particular emphasis on the impact that individuals and groups can have on organizational performance and culture. An array of recurring features engages students in entrepreneurial thinking, managing change, using tools/technology, and responsible management; furthermore, the unique chapter on Social Media and Communication contextualizes the importance and implications of various platforms and communications methods." Published 2019 under CC-BY-4.0 license.

The text uses "three distinctive and unique themes [technology & e-business, cash flow impact, and customer value] and an important new feature (Disaster Watch) which is embedded throughout the entire text. These themes assure that students see the material in an integrated context rather than a stream of separate and distinct topics." Published in 2012 by the Saylor Foundation under a CC-BY-NC-SA license.

Mastering Strategic Management is designed to prepare students for capstone-level studies in business. It includes infographic features to explaining content, real-world company examples, and a unique "strategy at the movies" feature. Published in 2016 under a C-BY-NC-SA license.

"Principles of Marketing teaches the experience and process of actually doing marketing – not just the vocabulary. It carries five dominant themes throughout in order to expose students to marketing in today's environment: Service dominant logic, sustainability, ethics and social responsibility, global coverage, and metrics..." Published in 2015 under a CC-BY-NC-SA license.

"Determining and satisfying the needs of customers through products that have value and accessibility and whose features are clearly communicated is the general purpose of any business. It is also a fundamental definition of marketing. This text introduces students to the marketing strategies and tools that practitioners use to market their products." Published in 2011 under a CC-BY license.

After introductory chapters covering the legal environment of business, Legal Aspects of "Marketing and Sales provides students with context and essential legal concepts relating to contracts, sales, intellectual property, antitrust law and unfair trade practices. The text provides the vocabulary and legal savvy they will need to talk in an educated way to customers, suppliers, shareholders, government regulators and other stakeholders — and to their own lawyers." Published in 2012 by the Saylor Foundation under a CC-BY-NC-SA license.