Includes two volumes to cover time periods and topics in American History both before and after 1877. Emphasis is on primary source materials. Originally published as OER and then later picked up by Stanford University Press.
Chapter topics include, but are not limited to, constitutional government, federalism, the media, politics, various types of policies, world affairs, and civil rights and liberties and links to primary source documents. This text is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 3.0 so it cannot be changed, but it is freely available in this form.
Created in the form of a library research guide, this resource includes text, video, Powerpoint slides, and other materials useful in covering the content of a basic human wellness course. Topics covered include, but are not limited to healthy behaviors, flexibility, body composition, nutrition, weight management, cancer, substance abuse, and stress.
This text was developed to support a special education teacher preparation class at Portland State University. It is available as a pdf and includes text, links to related materials, tables, graphs, sample forms, diagrams, and references lists.
Using a mix of historically and topically organized chapters plus four chapters on ethics, the aim of the text is to "present philosophy to newcomers as a living discipline with historical roots."
An ongoing project at Plymouth State University, this anthology has been created by students for students. A critical and contemplative approach that probes the question of what qualifies as important American literature and includes a diverse array of voices rather than just those of "old white men." It also strives to connect early texts and current culture.
A SUNY Open Textbook, it "introduces learners to functional assessment (FA), which includes a variety of assessment approaches (indirect, observational, and experimental) for identifying the cause of an indviidual's challenging behavior for the purpose of designing effective treatments."
Free to download in its current version plus "all future editions in perpetuity," this text is "designed to introduce doctoral and graduate students to the process of scientific research in the social sciences, business, education, public health, and related disciplines."
A SUNY Open Textbooks project licensed as CC BY-NC-SA, "it introduces the most current research-supported practices in the field of literacy." Chapters are included on topics such as early literacy development, literacy assessment, fostering literacy development in ELL students, teaching writing, technology's impact on children's literature, and more.
A BC Open Education program text licensed under CC BY 4.0, this remixed second edition of an earlier text "covers database systems and database design concepts. New to this edition are SQL info, additional examples, key terms and review exercises at the end of each chapter."
This OpenStax text provides seven ways for students to access the text. It has been "designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements for the single-semester introduction to psychology course" by covering "classic studies" as well as "current and emerging research."
This text is available through GALILEO Open Learning Materials (University System of Georgia) and is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0. It covers content typically addressed in introductory public speaking courses plus coverage of "PowerPoint, audience analysis and responsiveness, ethics in public speaking, persuasion, special occasion speeches, and structure of speeches."
This text made available through the Open Textbook Library was published in 2018 by the College of the Canyons and addresses "the nature of health, health education, health promotion, and related concepts" with the goal of helping users "understand the social, psychological, and physical components of health."
From May 6 - December 19, 2019, the Library accepted submissions of reviews of existing open and otherwise affordable educational resources (textbooks in this case) and awarded $250 individual and $375 group Honorariums for each review submitted (up to two). Honorarium Recipients: