Use the link above to look up a specific journal or article.
If you see this button while searching in one of our databases:
Click on the button and it will search within the library's databases to find the full text version of the article for you. If the full text version cannot be found, simply click on Request item via ILL and it will request the article for you through our Interlibrary Loan system, ILLiad. The article will then be emailed to your Jaguar account within a week or two.
This link opens in a new windowAn expansive abstracting and indexing database devoted to peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
This link opens in a new windowThis database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
This link opens in a new windowAccess multidisciplinary research delivered with info on emerging trends, subject specific content, and analysis tools. Includes Emerging Sources Citation Index: 2005-present, the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1980-present.
This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text resources relating to all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
This link opens in a new windowThis resource supports the study and application of education across all levels, encompassing early childhood education, primary and secondary education, as well as higher education. It features an extensive collection of thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, and other relevant sources covering the period from 1988 to 2023.
This link opens in a new windowEducation Resource Information Center provides access to education literature and resources. Consists of journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Gale OneFile: Psychology provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
This link opens in a new windowFrom the American Psychological Association (APA), this is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
You can often enter a keyword search from the journal's home page within a database. Follow the steps and see the images below for visual examples.
Note: These specific instructions apply to EBSCO databases. If the journal is housed in a ProQuest, SAGE, or other company's database, the screens will look different from the examples which follow (Steps 3 and 4). Also, the sample search used shows a kinesiology journal, but the same search process applies to journals for other subjects including special education.
Peer review is the rigorous process scholarly resources go through to become published. Most often when we talk about peer review, we are talking about journal articles going through the process, but some books do also. Peer review typically involves review boards of experts in a topic or discipline who read and evaluate submitted articles/materials to determine if they meet the standards for publication. This review involves more than just looking at the article's format, rather also examining thoroughness of the literature review, soundness of methodology, accuracy of results, and logic behind conclusions that are drawn. Often articles are returned to the authors for revisions before final publication.
