Counseling & Human Services Research Guide

Use the Find a Journal Tool....

• When you want to search for articles published by a specific journal:

  • Has the Journal of Mental Health Counseling published any articles on video counseling?

• When you have a full journal article citation and are trying to locate the full-text

  • Wymer, B., Ohrt, J. H., Morey, D., & Swisher, S. (2020). Integrating expressive arts techniques into trauma-focused treatment with children. Journal of Mental Health Counseling, 42(2), 124-139. https://doi.org/10. l7744/mehc.42.2.03

Steps:

1. Open the Find a Specific Journal Tool link

2. Make sure the Journals button is selected and then enter the name of the journal.

3. Enter the name of the Journal in the Title search box. The default "starts with should work in most cases.

4. Click search.

5. Review the results screen to see all the databases that provide full-text coverage for the journal.

6. Use the date range information to select a database that provides coverage aligned with your need. For example, if you are seeking very current articles, you will want to look for databases that provide coverage "~present."

7. Click the journal name link.

8. When the home page for the journal opens, you have options. You can...

• search using keywords if you are seeking articles on a topic like video counseling
• search using the whole title of an article entered with quotation marks
• look for options to locate the specific year, volume, and issue for an article