If you see this button while searching in one of our databases:
Click on the button and it will search within the library's databases to find the full text version of the article for you. If the full text version cannot be found, simply click on Request item via ILL and it will request the article for you through our Interlibrary Loan system, ILLiad. The article will then be emailed to your Jaguar account within a week or two.
When in doubt, APA PsycInfo is a good database to try first.
This link opens in a new windowAn expansive abstracting and indexing database devoted to peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
This link opens in a new windowThis database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
Gale OneFile: Psychology provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
PICO is a recognized format for developing a clinical research question. This question is often used as the basis for a literature search/review, and if needed, a research study design. It is part of a larger framework associated with evidence based practice (EBP) in health-related fields.
P = Patient/Problem [Condition] or Population
I = Intervention or Exposure
C = Compare to or Control
O = Outcome
Notes:
This link opens in a new windowAn expansive abstracting and indexing database devoted to peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
This link opens in a new windowThis database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
This link opens in a new windowPsychiatryOnline provides access to books, journals, and multimedia on psychiatry, mental health and behavioral science. It offers authoritative, up-to-date and affordable information geared toward psychiatrists, other mental health professionals, psychiatric residents, medical students and the general public. Includes the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders-5th edition (DSM-5).
Gale OneFile: Psychology provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
This link opens in a new window
Produced at the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and sponsored by the US Dept. of Veterans Affairs, PILOTS (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress) includes citations to literature on PTSD and other mental health issues.
This link opens in a new windowA vast collection of real transcripts, client narratives (diaries, letters, autobiographies, etc.), and associated reference works that help to provide insight into techniques and practices used by a variety of therapists and practitioners.
This link opens in a new windowCounseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Volume II provides a deep look into the client-therapist office, allowing readers to follow the progress and setbacks of clients over the course of multiple therapy sessions. This collection features a diverse set of clients, a wide range of presenting issues, and multiple therapeutic approaches. Because all content was recorded in 2012 or later, Volume II features contemporary issues and the most up-to-date therapeutic approaches to treat them. The collection is an outstanding resource for teaching and research and adheres to the American Psychological Association’s Ethics Guidelines for use and anonymity.
This link opens in a new windowEducation Resource Information Center provides access to education literature and resources. Consists of journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
This link opens in a new windowThis resource supports the study and application of education across all levels, encompassing early childhood education, primary and secondary education, as well as higher education. It features an extensive collection of thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, and other relevant sources covering the period from 1988 to 2023.
This link opens in a new windowIncludes full-text resources relating to all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 199,000 records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, management, research and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete is a collection of journals & periodicals that seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
This link opens in a new windowCoverage of humanities disciplines including history, language & literature, art & art history, education, philosophy, classical studies, and music. Also includes a digitized group of rare 19th and early 20th century American Art periodicals.
This link opens in a new windowSAGE publishes more than 485 journals, including those of more than 160 learned societies and institutions. Subject matter includes business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides full-text access to over 2300 peer-reviewed, Elsevier journals from 2010-present. Search for information pertaining to the sciences, social sciences, business, education, and more.
This link opens in a new windowAccess journals from Taylor & Francis, Routledge and Psychology Press academic and scientific publications, Informa Healthcare journals, selected encyclopedias, and e-books. Some materials outside of our subscription may have preview-only access.
This link opens in a new windowAccess multidisciplinary research delivered with info on emerging trends, subject specific content, and analysis tools. Includes Emerging Sources Citation Index: 2005-present, the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1980-present.
This link opens in a new windowProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Gale Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources and covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Also included are thousands of podcasts and videos.
This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary collection of resources covering physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Access journal articles, e-books, reference works, databases, and more. Some materials outside of our subscription may have preview-only access.
A service of the National Library of Medicine that provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full-text articles and other related resources.
This link opens in a new windowA robust resource containing the entire MEDLINE database. This provides a gateway for the comprehensive subject coverage required by academic and hospital library users.
This link opens in a new windowThe Biological Science Collection includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade, and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology’s cutting-edge research, with applications to medicine, technology, and the environment.
This link opens in a new windowThe Health & Medical Collection is a comprehensive medical information resource providing full-text journal content, reference ebooks, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews.
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health provides access to authoritative content including full-text titles cited in CINAHL supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management. This essential resource is versatile and features highlighting and note-taking tools as well as an intuitive interface, providing multiple pathways to key information. Updated daily, this resource will help nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
This link opens in a new windowAccess this interactive online learning platform for resources to help with job preparation, career advancement, and career changes and practice materials for tests such as ACT, AP, CLEP, GED, GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MAT, MCAT, NMSQT, PSAT, SAT and more.
Peer review is the rigorous process scholarly resources go through to become published. Most often when we talk about peer review, we are talking about journal articles going through the process, but some books do also. Peer review typically involves review boards of experts in a topic or discipline who read and evaluate submitted articles/materials to determine if they meet the standards for publication. This review involves more than just looking at the article's format, rather also examining thoroughness of the literature review, soundness of methodology, accuracy of results, and logic behind conclusions that are drawn. Often articles are returned to the authors for revisions before final publication.
