How do I research a company?
The How to Research a Company handout provides information about resources, and tips on how to research a company.
How do I build a list of companies based on specific criteria (geography, industry, etc.)?
You can build a list of companies based on specific criteria (e.g. geography, industry, sales, public/private, etc.) using the library's ReferenceUSA database. Once you access the databases, click on the U.S. Business link. Select the Advanced Search tab to select your criteria.
How do I find a company's SWOT analysis?
A SWOT Analysis, which stands for “Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats,” can be helpful in identifying the objectives of a company, as well as any internal or external factors that may hinder or help those objectives. You can find SWOT Analyses for various companies in the library database Business Source Ultimate Company Search.
You can find a link to Business Source Ultimate Company Search on the Business Research Guide’s, Company Research tab within the box titled Suggested Databases. Once you’ve opened the database, type your company’s name in the top search box and SWOT Analysis (or Marketline for more in-depth information) in the second search box. This will search for all SWOT Analyses from the company from previous years, so be sure to open the most up-to-date report.
Which database should I use when looking for a company profile?
On the Business Research Guide, select the Company Research tab to find the link to Nexis Uni. Once you access the database, select Company Info in the What are you interested in? box, then enter the name of the company you are researching. A list of results will populate. You may review the Hoover's Company Records, for example.