Where do I search for industry information?
You can search for industry information on the Business Research Guide’s Industry Research tab, which provides business databases and websites that can help you research a particular industry. For example, in the section labeled Industry Research Databases, locate the link to IBIS World database. To gain an understanding of what this database offers, watch this video.
On the Industry Research tab, you can also find a link to Passport (Euromonitor International). Once you access the database, look to the top of the landing page, and you will see a list of items Search, Industries, Economies, Consumers, Companies, and Analytics. To research specific sectors of an industry, begin by clicking the Search tab. You will be taken to a page that provides the option to narrow your search criteria to Categories and Topics; then you may select a location in Geographies, for example. This short video overviews the database for you.
What are SIC and NAICS codes and how do they factor into industry research?
When performing industry research, consider using NAICS and SIC codes as tools to research an industry. All companies in North America are assigned a NAICS and SIC code; they tell you under which industry or industries a company operates. They can be helpful tools to locate companies within a specific industry or pinpoint an industry based on a specific company.
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) Code is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. (http://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/)
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Codes are four digit numerical codes assigned by the U.S. government to business establishments to identify the primary business of the establishment. (http://siccode.com/en/)
Global Industry Classification Standard (GICS) Code is an industry code developed by MSCI and Standard & Poor's (S&P) for use by the global financial community. The GICS structure, in many instances, has superseded the SIC and NAICS codes. (http://www.msci.com/resources/pdfs/MK-GICS-DIR-3-02.pdf)
Due to the emerging technologies industry in the late 1980s, NAICS codes replaced SIC codes; however databases often still use both codes to label a company, so it is important to be aware of both systems.
To look up a NAICS or SIC code, use one of the following code lookups. Type in key words that describe the industry to search for the appropriate code.