Are there specific resources for Accounting majors?
Yes, you can find all the resources that are available to accounting majors on the Accounting: Library Research Guide
Where do I turn to for resources for my economics project?
There is a Finance and Economics: Library Research Guide that features library resources specific to finance and economics, as well as items helpful with projects pertaining to banking, investments, business law, statistics, and economic policies.
I'm having a difficult time with my finance homework, do you have anything that can help me?
If you are having a difficult time relating to your textbook, you may want to check out how another author approach/explain solution methods. Here is a list of books that may help you out.
Where kind of company financials do I have access to?
Company financials, such as balance sheets, cash flows, financial statements, and other financial data, can be found in the library's company and industry databases. These databases are accessible from the Business Research Guide, under the Company/Industry Research tab. Bear in mind, most databases will provide detailed financial data for public companies, but only estimates for private companies. In most databases, the financial information can be exported into an Excel spreadsheet.
What database can I use to find information on a company's financials?
The library's database NetAdvantage (S&P) provides detailed stock reports for most publicly traded companies. Once the database opens, type in the company's name into the search box, and within the Financials/Valuation section you will find to key stats, income statements, balance sheet, cash flow and ratios.
Private companies do not have to share details regarding their financials. However, Nexis Uni, collects data on larger private companies. Once you access the database, select Advanced Search located under the large search box type. Type your company's name in the top box, and in the Source box, type and select LexisNexis® Corporate Affiliations TM. The report may offer a range of the company's financials. This report may also includes details of percentages for each product the company sales. This information can be downloaded into a PDF.
For small companies or branch locations, ReferenceUSA has a Business Demographics section that includes a Location Sales Volume field. Once you access the database, click on the U.S. Businesses link. You may want to enter the company name, as well as the city and state. From your list of results, you can identify your location by referencing the addresses offered.
How can I do a quick comparable analysis on a company's main competitors?
The library's database NetAdvantage (S&P) provides a feature Quick Comparable Analysis. Once the database opens, type in the company's name into the search box then select Quick Comparable Analysis from the list of options on the right of the screen. The database will list the financial data for that company along with that of its major competitors.
How do I find a company's 10-K report?
NetAdvantage (S&P) provides links to a company's 10-K report. Once you open the company's record, you will have the option to open the report by clicking on the button labeled 10-K below the company's name.
You can also search for 10-K reports from the U.S. Security & Exchange Commission's EDGAR database and in NetAdvantage (S&P). The following report from the SEC will show you how to read a 10-K report: How to Read a 10-K Report (SEC).