This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text resources relating to all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
This link opens in a new windowThis resource supports the study and application of education across all levels, encompassing early childhood education, primary and secondary education, as well as higher education. It features an extensive collection of thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, and other relevant sources covering the period from 1988 to 2023.
This link opens in a new windowEducation Resource Information Center provides access to education literature and resources. Consists of journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
This link opens in a new windowProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
This link opens in a new windowSAGE publishes more than 485 journals, including those of more than 160 learned societies and institutions. Subject matter includes business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
This link opens in a new windowPeer review is the rigorous process scholarly resources go through to become published. Most often when we talk about peer review, we are talking about journal articles going through the process, but some books do also. Peer review typically involves review boards of experts in a topic or discipline who read and evaluate submitted articles/materials to determine if they meet the standards for publication. This review involves more than just looking at the article's format, rather also examining thoroughness of the literature review, soundness of methodology, accuracy of results, and logic behind conclusions that are drawn. Often articles are returned to the authors for revisions before final publication.
Here are direct links to some good journals for research in reading and education.
You can often enter a keyword search from the journal's home page within a database. Follow the steps and see the images below for visual examples. Note: The example shown in the images below is a sports science journal but the concepts apply for any journal.
Note: These specific instructions apply to EBSCO databases. If the journal is housed in a ProQuest, SAGE, or other company's database, the screens will look different from the examples which follow (Steps 3 and 4).
Use the list of suggested journals or the Find a Specific Journal Tool on the Library's home page, to locate the journal home page from within the library databases.
When the result page for the journal appears in WorldCat (the library catalog) it will show you which database(s) includes coverage of the journal. Click on the link for the journal title to open the record page for the journal within the database.
The journal record page offers important information about the journal, and in this case, offers links to all the issues of the journal, organized by year, in a vertical list on the right side of the screen. Above the Publication Details heading, there is also a link labeled "Search within this publication." Clicking here will open up a page with the advanced search screen for the database.
The Journal Name (JN) symbol is automatically entered into the first search box. You can then use the other empty search boxes to enter keywords or other search terms to describe your topic. Your results will be limited to matching articles from the specific journal, in this case, Journal of Sport Behavior.