Newspapers Include:
- coverage of current or very recent events
- eyewitness accounts of an event
- in-depth coverage of local issues (in local or regional newspapers)
- the public's reaction to a specific event or issue
- the media's current portrayal, or portrayal over time, of a specific issue
You can read many newspapers on the open web, but some now have paywalls for older issues or if you read more than a certain number in a month. You can get access to the vast majority of newspapers online through the A&M-SA University Library. If you need to find a specific newspaper, visit Find a Specific Journal Tool then enter the title of the newspaper.
Accessing Newspapers Through the A&M-SA University Library
- The library provides online access to many newspapers and other news sources. Search for a newspaper by title in the Library Catalog.
- Newspapers can also be found in many of the library's databases. You can search Access World News (NewsBank), Global Newsstream (ProQuest), Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO), or News: OneFile (Gale) for international, national and regional newspapers.
- The library offers access to historical news content through databases including African American Archives (Accessible Archives), African American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2, 1827-1998 (NewsBank), Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 (NewsBank), and Historical Newspapers (ProQuest).
- The library's A-Z Databases list includes links to access news publications specific to San Antonio. Click on the S in the Databases A-Z list to find links to access the San Antonio Business Journal, the San Antonio Express-News Historical Archive, 1867-2015, and the San Antonio Light, 1882-1993.
- The image below shows a sample search results screen from the Global Newsstream (ProQuest) database with the Newspapers source type limiter and a newspaper icon identified and described.
