Like books in a public library, books in academic libraries are grouped by subject. Most academic libraries use the Library of Congress classification system. This outline can help you identify call numbers for your subject. Then you can find where the call numbers are in the library.
Since books on your subject will likely be located together, you can also search the library catalog for a few relevant books and then browse the shelves around that book.
Enter keyword(s) that describes your topic.
Click on a relevant title, then look at the subject headings under Subjects
Write down the call number of relevant books and note its location.
Watch the Main and Multimedia as well as the Juvenile and Curriculum videos to learn more about our print collections available in the main collection.
The main difference between books and other materials on Main Campus and those at Archives & Special Collections is that our stacks are closed, meaning you will not be able to physically browse through them. However, our Archives & Special Collections catalog search tool and our archives staff are available to help you locate and retrieve materials.
Use the Archives & Special Collections catalog search tool to narrow your search to items in our collection. If you are having trouble finding materials you think we may have, please call or email us for help.
If you have found a book in the catalog that is located downtown at Archives & Special Collections, simply call or email to make an appointment with us to view the item at our downtown location.